Presidential search officially underway

“We need to find someone that in their own way is going to impact Marshall University for the best.”

The Marshall University Board of Governors met last week to announce AGB Search Incorporated will assist it in finding potential candidates to become the university’s next president.

The board also named 16 members who will make up the university’s official search committee to vote on the candidates AGB has selected.

Those members include Chairman Michael Sellards, Phyllis Arnold, James Bailes, Phil Cline, Oshel Craigo, Tim Dagostine, David Haden, Edward Howard III, Christie Kinsey, Dale Lowther, Joseph McDonie, Wyatt Scaggs, Dr. Joseph Touma, Dr. Marty Amerikaner, Miriah Young and Duncan Waugaman.

The position opened after President Stephen J. Kopp died unexpectedly December 17, 2014.

Waugaman, student body president, said student’s should understand the committee’s goal is not to replace Kopp.

“We need to find someone that in their own way is going to impact Marshall University for the best,” Waugaman said. “We’re not looking for the next President Kopp. We’re looking for someone that’s going to be able to hopefully one day do all the amazing things that he was able to do.”

Waugaman also said he hopes to find someone who will be receptive to a student voice.

“There’s a a lot of decisions that affect all kinds of different entities, but also they all affect the students,” Waugaman said. “I want someone who’s always going to put that student’s opinion first.”

AGB will provide the search committee with a number of potential candidates. The committee will then conduct off-campus screenings and interviews to narrow the search. The final three to five candidates will then be invited for an on-campus interview.

Other non-voting members of the committee will include Interim President Gary White, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission Chancellor Paul Hill and former Interim President A. Michael Perry.

Interim President White will not be eligible for the position due to his current role.

Amy Napier can be contacted at [email protected].