Marshall to honor new Hall of Fame Class


Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Marshall University will hold its annual Hall of Fame Banquet Friday, where nine former Marshall athletes will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for 2016.

The banquet is at 7 p.m. in the Don Morris room of the Memorial Student Center. Tickets are $45 each and can be purchased at the Marshall Ticket Office in the lobby of the Cam Henderson Center. All current Marshall Athletics Hall of Fame members can attend for free.

This year’s inductees include Bob Barnett, Melvin Cunningham, Dani Derricott, Courtney Driscoll (deceased), Lynn Kochendorfer, Catie Knable, Jeanne Noble Lunsford, John Spellacy and Bill Yanossy. Inductees will be showcased in the new Chad Pennington Marshall Athletic Hall of Fame, located at the Chris Cline Athletic Complex next to the Joan C. Edwards Stadium.

Inductees will be attending the M Club tailgate on Saturday before Marshall takes on Akron, and will also be honored on the field during a pregame ceremony.

“We’re always excited having these people honored,” said Laura Der, Big Green Assistant Director for Development. “Before, our hall of fame used to be some framed pictures on a wall in the Henderson Center, now we can use the hall of fame to really honor former Marshall athletes for all they did for Marshall Athletics.”

Induction into the Marshall Athletic Hall of Fame is considered by Marshall Athletics as the highest honor a former athlete can receive. Inductees have to meet multiple requirements before becoming eligible for the Marshall Hall of Fame, which include graduating at least 10 years prior to induction, two or more earned letters in a single sport or at least one letter earned in multiple sports, good standing with the university and exhibition of good citizenship after leaving the university.

Once an athlete becomes eligible for the hall of fame, their name is placed on a list with the other eligible athletes. Each year, in January, the Marshall University Athletic Hall of Fame Committee meets and spends months deliberating until deciding on the year’s inductees.

“It is a lengthy process and is not taken lightly or without a lot of information and discussion,” said Linda Holmes, Chairwoman of the Marshall University Athletic Hall of Fame Committee. “This is the most prestigious honor that a former athlete can receive. What it does is keep these former athletes currently engaged with the athletic department and Marshall University.”

Rick Farlow can be contacted at [email protected]